Jane Austen Bio

Jane AustenJane Austen was born on December 16, 1775, in England.  She completed six novels, which have been dramatized countless times over the years, including: Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Northanger Abbey, Emma, Mansfield Park, and Persuasion.  She never married and died of an illness at the early age of 41 on July 18, 1817.  Austen was buried at Winchester Cathedral.

Works by Jane Austen Available on the Podcast:

Publication Dates:

  1. 1811 – Sense and Sensibility
  2. 1813 – Pride and Prejudice
  3. 1814 – Mansfield Park
  4. 1815 – Emma
  5. 1817 – Persuasion (published posthumously)
  6. 1817 – Northanger Abbey

(Northanger Abbey was published posthumously in, 1817, with Persuasion, but it was actually the first novel sold to a publisher in 1803).

Learn More About Austen and Her Works: